Posted by: JungleGeorge | January 24, 2011

Call of Duty 2 Reinstall

Call of Duty 2 was giving me issues. Many of the multiplayer maps were being reported as corrupted and I needed to delete them before they could be replaced. COD2 does not have an easy way to remove multiplayer maps which are downloaded while joining an online multiplayer game.

The only option I know of is to  delete them manually yourself. In my case after the deleting about 6, I decided to guess and delete a bunch of old ones. This caused an issue and I decided to uninstall COD2. This gave me more issues so I tried to uninstall it manually, which turned out to be bad idea. I got COD2 cleaned off but during the reinstall, I could not install patch 1.3.

During the patch 1.3 install, I got the error I “Error: 1612 The installation source for this product is not available. Verify that the source exists and that you can access it.”

This error pointed to something not being cleaned up properly. Therefore, I ran CCLeaner, EasyCleaner, and WinUtilities. I even tried Microsoft’s fix it site and still no luck. I uninstalled COD4 thinking it was a confused. Then I ran the system file check tool SFC that had issues because I did not have a Windows XP Home Edition SP 4. Even after create the needed CD and fixing any SFC errors, the COD Patch was still not installing.

I uninstalled and reinstalled several times hoping it would fix the issue. Finally, I turned to a tool no longer provided by Microsoft but available from the other sites. It is called “Window Installer Cleanup”. I downloaded it from Softpedia. When using softpedia it is easy to click the wrong download link. I should have gone to Major Geek instead. Oh well, I downloaded and installed it. I saw patches for Call of Duty 2 and 4. Since I did not have Call of Duty 4 installed, I removed them. Then I remove Call of Duty 2 1.3 patch and rebooted my PC. This time the 1.3 patch worked as expected and I am happy after a working on this for a week.

One thing you should keep in mind during this entire time I had thoughts of reinstalling Windows XP on my PC to fix this. So I took chances I would not otherwise have done so. I skipped system backups when I should not have. I could easily have made my PC unusual able. Having to remove multiplayer maps manually in order to download the correct one is a poor design decision in Call of Duty 2. A cleanup map option should have been provided.

Responses

  1. I had downloaded a clean up tool years ago that seemed to work. It still may be around the net.


Leave a Reply

Categories

