Posted by: JungleGeorge | November 22, 2011

Choosing a CMS

I have been looking for a CMS for a new site that will be repository of software with user ratings/reviews. So far I have been using WordPress to catalog the software as posts.  I bought into the idea that WordPress is a great tool for using it as a CMS but have not seen the results I am looking for. It is \a blogging tool first and a CMS second.

So I tried Drupal 7 and found many features I am  looking for but not all of them. I will need spend more time in using Drupal 7 to determine if it meets my needs.

So decided to do a search on “choosing a cms” and found some helpful articles.

How To Choose The Right CMS (2009) – WDD by Jason Mosley does a very good job of summing up what my thoughts on choosing a CMS and identify some CMSes that I have yet to try.

Ten Simple Rules for Choosing the Perfect CMS + Excellent Options (2009) by Cameron Chapman. This article has many of the same suggestions as the one above by Jason Mosley.  She lists 10 CMS to consider.

8 features to look for when choosing a cms – Posted on Sunday 1st June 2008 by Drew McLellan. Handy list of features to look for.

There are probably more articles that will help but this is the best i found after 30 minutes of searching.

Leave a Reply

Categories

